Jean Delville

November 6, 2009 at 11:48 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I try not to have favourites, I really do. Mostly because I’m fickle in my affections and tend to change my mind every few months anyway. Nevertheless, I have no hesitation in stating that Jean Delville (1867-1953) is possibly my favourite Symbolist painter. He had a keen interest in the Occult, and founded the Salon d’Art Idealiste in his native Belgium.I think I love him so much because I’m instinctively drawn to art that’s a little bit disturbing. Also, I like that he’s one of the few Symbolist artists who didn’t shy away from depicting naked men. There’s a complete dearth of manflesh in nineteenth-century art, if you ask me.

 

 

delville3_TheLoveOfSouls

The Love of Souls

 

 

 

Delville_Jean_Lecole_Du_Silence

The School of Silence

 

 

delville2_SatansTreasures

Satan's Treasures

 

 

 

Delville_Orpheus

Orpheus

More Delville art will be coming up in the future.

 

5 Comments

  1. Daniel said,

    Amazing blog! I’ve always wanted something like this.

  2. von B. said,

    Yes that’s a good one, indeed. I specially like ‘Satan’s Treasures’

  3. Jurporeitarie said,

    men bags men bags men bags men bags men bags

Leave a Reply

