Carlos Schwabe

November 14, 2009 at 7:35 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Carlos Schwabe (1877 – 1926) is one of the more disturbing Symbolist artists. He seems to have had an obsession with death (possibly associated with the demise of a close friend when he was 17), and his paintings often contain allegories of suffering. He also displayed an interest in Decadent literature, and the following are all illustrations painted by Schwabe for Baudelaire’s Les Fleurs du Mal.

 

 

fleursdumalweb

Benediction

 

 

 

carlos-schwabe-lame-du-vin_1224218204

The Love of Wine

 

 

 

Schwabe-RevoltFleursduMal

Revolt

 

 

 

schwabe4LaMortdesAmants

The Death of Lovers

 

 

 

schwabe1SpleenandIdeal1

Spleen and the Ideal

 

 

 

 

carlosschwabe2Les noces du poete avec la muse ou l'ideal

The Poet and the Muse of the Ideal

 

 

I find his work disturbing and compelling at the same time. Which, of course, is the mark of a true piece of Decadent artistry.

5 Comments

  1. Carla Schwab said,

    Olá me chamo Carla Schwab, sou artista plástica e moro na cidade de Curitiba-PR -Brasil. Pelos estudos que minha família realizou descobriram que este artista é um parente nem tão distante daminha árvore genealógica. Gostaria de saber mais.

    • Decadent Handbook said,

      That’s really cool! He’s one of my favourites, and I’ll definitely do another Schwabe post soon.

  2. @~ said,

    Schwabe was a very interesting artist.
    I started a Facebook Group Elysian Fields: The Art of Carlos Schwabe http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=77525584567&ref=ts and was contacted by Schwabe’s grandson (whom is now co-admin of the group). Oddly enough I was also co-admin of a Jean Delville Facebook group and his grandaughter got in contact and is now a co-admin also. http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=44670726124&ref=ts

    • Decadent Handbook said,

      Ah, I’m already a member of the Schwabe group! Well done – it’s really good. Scwabe’s grandson contacted me after my post on the artist as well, which I found very exciting in my geeky way. I’m definitely joining the Delville one – I think he is my favourite artist of all time.

    • Gayle Feyrer said,

      Hello. I’ve just finished a mystery set in Paris of 1897, and am in the process of updating my Facebook (haven’t done much yet) and creating a new website under my pen name. YvesFey.com is not officially open, and has very little text, but many images. I adore this period and have designed many striking headers using the art, and also plan to do some special things with the poems. But I was haphazard in my research and thought some images were in the public domain that weren’t. I especially love Delville and have written to that site as well, but I thought I would see if you might facilitate permission to use his work – attributed, with links, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

