Evelyn de Morgan

May 11, 2010 at 12:58 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Evelyn de Morgan (1855-1919) was technically a Pre-Raphealite artist, but the strong parallels between the Pre-Raphealites and the Symbolists merits her inclusion here. She is one of the few women who managed to make a name for herself in the movement, and there has  recently been an increase of interest in her work. She is remarkable for the sheer number of paintings she produced, which can be attributed to her fairly formidable work ethic. On the morning of her seventeenth birthday she wrote in her diary, “Art is eternal, but life is short…” “I will make up for it now, I have not a moment to lose.”

Dryad

Dryad

Field of the Slain

Field of the Slain

Hope in the Prison of Despair

Hope in the Prison of Despair

Aurora Triumphans

Aurora Triumphans

S.O.S

S.O.S

Angel of Death

Angel of Death

As a side note, I’m sorry I’m not posting as often as I used to. I’m currently studying for a Masters Degree, and I have a stupid amount of work on at the moment! I’m hoping that I’ll be able to do more here once May is over!

5 Comments

  1. @~ said,

    I love Evelyn de Morgan🙂
    I wouldn’t worry about justifying inclusions, some purists would probably not class Evelyn as strictly Pre-Raphaelite either, but what does it matter about labels? Post what feels right and fitting to you, you’re making excellent choices🙂
    Good luck with the Masters.

  2. Decadent Handbook said,

    Thank you! The workload should calm down a bit after next week, thank god.

    I’m glad you like what I’m posting. I really like Evelyn de Morgan – I’m glad her work is getting more recognition now.

  3. Brie said,

    I’m right there with you. Trying to keep up with a blog during classes can be crazy. Sometimes I wonder how I find the time to do anything non school related.

    I stumbled upon your blog and I like what I see. Good work!

    I’m always interested in the woman artists who managed to push through in a so very male dominated field in the past.

  4. LizTisane said,

    Oh my god. These are amazing, especially SOS. I admit despite my deep and abiding love of the Preraphaelite art I do know I haven’t looked into the movement as a whole nearly enough. Thank you for contributing to my education.

Leave a Reply

